Thursday, February 10, 2005

How many Johnsons?

Question: My son-in-law and I are having a friendly argument and have a dinner at Olive Garden and $20 riding on this. He says that the only president to be impeached was Andrew Johnson. He claims that Andrew Johnson was president after Grant. I say that there never was a president named Andrew Johnson. There was a president named Andrew Jackson and a president named Lyndon B. Johnson. Please help straighten this out!! Thank you.
From: Susan G. of Lake Charles, LA
Date: February 10, 2005

Gleaves answers: As in so many arguments, you win on some points, and lose on others.

First: There was a president named Andrew Johnson; he was the 17th president of the United States.

Second: He became president upon the death of Abraham Lincoln, served in the White House from 1865-1869, and was succeeded by U.S. Grant.

Third: Andrew Johnson was one of two U.S. presidents who were impeached. Bill Clinton was the other. (Both were acquitted in the Senate trial.)

Looks like your son-in-law should still buy you dinner at the Olive Garden -- after you've paid him $20!

No comments: